Books

The Engraver

Spanish Netherlands, 1620s: raised by her father Lucas to know her mind, Antonia sees everything that goes on in her world – all the rivalries and jealousy that course through the artists’ studios and workshops of Antwerp. Drawn into the lively household of a great painter whose work her father engraves for a living, she begins to see a life of colour and possibility for herself – until Lucas entrusts her with a secret which will alter the course of their family’s future.

Belgium, present day: haunted by the recent loss of her mother, art historian Charlotte’s move to Antwerp is ostensibly to research her hero, Baroque artist Rubens, and also to seek answers about the father she has never met. But a startling discovery hidden inside an old folio turns Charlotte’s quiet life into a dangerous hunt for the truth. Nothing is as it appears in the shadowy cloisters of the university, where violence and obsession run deep…

Lisa-Medved-6644
Lisa-Medved-6590
Lisa-Medved-6652

…but who better than an engraver’s daughter to know the art of cutting to the heart of a mystery – and holding it close until it is ready to be revealed.

Inspired by a real feud between Rubens and his chief engraver Lucas Vorsterman, this immersive debut will appeal to fans of Possession, The Miniaturist and Girl with a Pearl Earring.

Lisa-Medved-Writers-6529
Lisa-Medved-6365

What I’m working on at the moment…

The years in between the two world wars is a fascinating period of history, the Jazz Age quickly following the ravages of the Great War, the Great Depression plunging the populace into dire economic hardship before the horrors of the Second World War. Women had won the right to vote, yet there were severe restrictions on who could actually vote. Women were by no means free from oppression.

I am keen to create a story set in this era, focusing on a young woman exploring her past, fearful for her future, searching for her sense of identity and belonging. The story begins in London, moves to her birthplace of Amsterdam, then travels to Germany and finally Vienna.

Lisa-Medved-Books6164

Pin It on Pinterest